Council's Claiborne, Harrison fill final committee chair vacancies

Thursday, October 6, 2011 at 1:41pm

Committee chairs are set for the new Metro Council after the council Tuesday tapped members Phil Claiborne and Frank Harrison to fill two final vacancies.

The council appointed Claiborne, who represents District 15, as Planning, Zoning and Historical Committee chair. Members appointed Harrison, who represents District 2, as Traffic and Parking Committee chair. By rule, the council appoints chairs of these two committees.

In his role, Claiborne has replaced departed Councilman Jim Gotto as the council representative on the nine-member Metro Planning Commission. Harrison is set to serve on the nine-member Metro Traffic and Parking Commission.

Vice Mayor Diane Neighbors appointed the council’s other 13 committee chairs last month. The appointments followed Metro’s August and September elections, which brought 17 new members to the council.

Other committee chair appointments are:

Sean McGuire –– Budget and Finance Committee

Tim Garrett –– Charter Revision Committee

Jerry Maynard –– Codes, Fair and Farmers Market Committee

Charlie Tygard –– Convention, Tourism and Public Entertainment Facilities Committee

Lonnell Matthews Jr. –– Education Committee

Sandra Moore –– Federal Grants Review Committee

Edith Langster –– Health, Hospitals and Social Services Committee

Darren Jernigan –– Parks, Library and Recreation Committee

Megan Barry –– Personnel-Public Information-Human Relations-Housing Committee

Bo Mitchell –– Public Safety-Beer and Regulated Beverages Committee

Walter Hunt –– Public Works Committee

Ronnie Steine –– Rules-Confirmations-Public Elections Committee

Buddy Baker –– Transportation and Aviation Committee 

2 Comments on this post:

By: govskeptic on 10/7/11 at 6:50

Two more independent thinkers, as long as it's the same as
the Vice-Mayor's.

By: Nitzche on 10/7/11 at 5:13

did king karl have any input?hhhhaaaa what a joke!