OVC gaining Jacksonville (Ala.) State in 2003

Tuesday, April 17, 2001 at 1:00am

Jacksonville (Ala.) State University voted Monday to leave the TransAmerica Conference and join the Ohio Valley Conference in all sports, beginning no later than July 1, 2003.

The addition of Jacksonville State makes the Gamecocks the 10th member of the conference and reduces the current membership of the TAAC to nine schools. However, Belmont will officially join the TAAC next season in all sports to bring the membership back to 10 schools.

The primary reason for Jacksonville State

Filed under: City News