Vols, MTSU kick off conference tournaments

Wednesday, May 16, 2001 at 1:00am

Tennessee and MTSU both open their respective conference baseball tournaments today.

The Volunteers, the third seed in the Southeastern Conference, face sixth-seeded Ole Miss at 10 a.m. today in the opener of the tournament in Hoover, Ala.

The Blue Raiders, the top seed in the Sun Belt Conference, face Arkansas State at 7 tonight in Lafayette, La.

Tennessee features SEC Player of the Year Chris Burke. The shortstop enters the tournament batting .439 with 18 home runs and 57 RBIs. He also has 98 hits, 89 runs scored.

Burke is the third Vol to be named SEC Player of the Year, following Todd Helton in 1995 and Jeff Pickler in 1998.


Filed under: City News