Up for Debate: AG opinion on 'guns-in-lots'

Wednesday, May 29, 2013 at 11:35pm

Do you agree with the state attorney general's opinion on the "guns-in-lots" legislation?

Filed under: City Voices
Tagged: Up for Debate

114 Comments on this post:

By: Loner on 5/30/13 at 5:03

Let's see...in the Coonskin Cap state, the right to fire is sacrosanct, unless the firing offense is gun-related?

They should have filmed, Deliverance, in Tennessee.

By: Loner on 5/30/13 at 5:12

Allowing guns and ammo in the trunks of cars in employee parking lots will eliminate the cooling off period for disgruntled and fired employees...they won't have to go home to get their guns and then return to the workplace before beginning their rampages....they can now take their revenge almost immediately.....more innocent blood will be shed on the altar of the Second Amendment....this is one of the stupidest laws on the books anywhere.

By: yogiman on 5/30/13 at 5:47

You opinion is a personal matter, Loner. We Tennesseans live our lives by the laws of the Constitution.

How many instances can you quote where a law abiding citizen has arbitrarily used a gun for a personal matter.

Are you one who wants the government to control your life. You know, like a communist nation.

By: Captain Nemo on 5/30/13 at 7:35

Stupid old man. All citizens are law abiding until they commit a crime.

By: Blanketnazi2 on 5/30/13 at 7:40

There's not enough time and space on the board to list the number of "law abiding" citizens that have used a gun over a personal matter.

By: yogiman on 5/30/13 at 7:43

But only criminally minded citizens tend to commit a crime, dumba$$. Are you such an expert on the matter that you support fellow criminals?

By: Blanketnazi2 on 5/30/13 at 7:49

What about cases of domestic violence and disgruntled employees?

By: bfra on 5/30/13 at 7:54

I am a Tennessean and that brainless dumb old fool sure doesn't speak for me. So next time dumbass yogi, use "I" instead of "WE". Plus, there have been many "law abiding" citizens that lost that description when they used a gun illegally. But it takes brains to be sensible!

By: Blanketnazi2 on 5/30/13 at 7:56

There's a difference between taking guns away and regulating them. The original intent for guns was for a WELL REGULATED militia.

By: bfra on 5/30/13 at 7:56

By: yogiman on 5/30/13 at 7:43

But only criminally minded citizens tend to commit a crime, dumba$$. Are you such an expert on the matter that you support fellow criminals?
======================================

Just 1 of the Brainless Dumb Old Fool's comments!

By: Blanketnazi2 on 5/30/13 at 7:57

bfra, that certainly illustrated a lack of critical thinking skills.

By: Rocket99 on 5/30/13 at 8:01

yogi needs to go back to Jellystone.

As others have said, law abiding until that one time.

Even criminals abide by some laws, just not the ones they are found guilty of breaking.

And since when does one have to have a "criminal" mind in order to shoot at someone? Do these idiots who shake guns at people in rush hour have criminal minds?

Mr. Ramsey apparently truly must not understand the laws of this state. It's wel past his time to be in elected office. He needs to join Machelle Bachman and step down.

By: Blanketnazi2 on 5/30/13 at 8:12

Wow, Vermont just legalized physician assisted suicide!
http://townhall.com/tipsheet/danieldoherty/2013/05/21/sigh-vermont-legalizes-physicianassisted-suicide-n1602510

By: govskeptic on 5/30/13 at 8:16

While the AG opinion is not "in fact" law, it does substitute as law until a case
shows and is upheld as legal. Of course, unlike 49 other states, our AG is
not an elected official, but is appointed by and an employee of our Tenn.
Supreme Court. What an odd situation that is, and does it affect how he
comes up with making his opinions, and I'm not speaking about just this one.

By: budlight on 5/30/13 at 8:25

By: Blanketnazi2 on 5/30/13 at 8:12
Wow, Vermont just legalized physician assisted suicide!
http://townhall.com/tipsheet/danieldoherty/2013/05/21/sigh-vermont-legalizes-physicianassisted-suicide-n1602510

And Blanket, does that legalization now make it morally right? Or ethically right? Or even just plain right?

This goes in the same category as late term abortion such as the type that the good doctor in PA is now going to serve a 100 year life sentence for. He plead guilty to avoid the DEATH penalty. How much of a contradiction is that? He thinks he has the power to take the LIFE of an innocent unborn, yet he begs the state to save his own life. Selfish man.

By: Jughead on 5/30/13 at 8:25

AG opinions are not, and never have been, "law." It is simply his opinion about the constitutionality of the law.

The Guns-n-lots bill has good intentions but was poorly drafted. This is not a political statement by the AG, just an honest legal assessment of the law.

Of course, morons like Boner and Nimrod will call us all "hillbillies", "rednecks", and "backwoods" for supporting the 2nd Amendment. I'm curious as to why those azzhats don't move if they hate Tennessee so much. I'm also looking forward to reading their death notices when law and order breaks down some day and they are sitting ducks slaughtered by thugs.

The sooner the better.

By: Blanketnazi2 on 5/30/13 at 8:38

bud, once again you can't legislate your own morality. That's the reason for separation of church and state. If a person who is terminally ill wishes to cease their suffering and the physician agrees, they should be given the dignity to do so. Hell, we are allowed to put our pets "to sleep" if they are suffering. Shouldn't we be given the same option?

By: Blanketnazi2 on 5/30/13 at 8:40

bud, if that decision isn't morally right for you, then don't choose it. But you shouldn't make that decision for others. That's not right.

By: govskeptic on 5/30/13 at 8:40

On a lighter note than Physician Assist suicide. "Wanna have a good time: for
3-4 mins"? Check out the Kim Jong-IL profile page on MySpace.com A true hoot.

By: pswindle on 5/30/13 at 8:50

This law shows that this Governor will sign anything into law if it pleases the Tea Party. I can not understand why anyone would want guns n' trunks , what reason?

By: BenDover on 5/30/13 at 8:51

Workplace rules against keeping your weapons secured in your car are effectively just another gun ban for law / rule abiding citizens.

By: Blanketnazi2 on 5/30/13 at 8:52

Law abiding until they're not, Ben.

By: BenDover on 5/30/13 at 8:56

The point of carry laws is for more good guys to be armed than bad guys as a deterrent to being bad guys.

By: BenDover on 5/30/13 at 8:56

http://www.beaufortobserver.net/Articles-NEWS-and-COMMENTARY-c-2012-12-22-264494.112112-Texas-study-Concealed-carry-permit-holders-commit-less-than-1-of-the-crimes.html

By: BenDover on 5/30/13 at 8:57

http://www.thenewamerican.com/usnews/crime/item/14859-florida-update-concealed-carry-permits-up-violent-crime-down

By: Jughead on 5/30/13 at 8:58

I want you liberal morons to show me statistics that confirm that permit holders are responsible for anything more than an infinitesimal number of crimes.

Go on, you damn idiots---show me.

By: Blanketnazi2 on 5/30/13 at 9:00

Ben, your one man fan club showed up!

By: bfra on 5/30/13 at 9:08

Ben with his own words proved long ago, that he doesn't have enough gun sense to be a responsible gun owner. "He likes to shoot, just to see things blow up." (his own words)
Joke? Should have been, but he said it wasn't.

By: Blanketnazi2 on 5/30/13 at 9:10

http://www.vpc.org/ccwkillers.htm

No comprehensive data exists on non-self defense killings by private citizens legally allowed to carry concealed handguns. Concealed Carry Killers offers examples from May 2007 to the present of such incidents, which are taken from news reports and the limited state data available. These examples are only an unknown fraction of the unreported number of similar incidents that routinely occur across the nation.

By: Blanketnazi2 on 5/30/13 at 9:10

These unfounded assertions are repeated to this day. In a September 28, 2010, opinion piece on Foxnews.com, concealed carry advocate John Lott asserted, "Fears about accidents and rampages by permit holders, and blood running in the streets however never materialized where concealed carry has been allowed."

Such false claims are endlessly repeated by pro-gun advocates in their ongoing efforts to expand the carrying of concealed handguns into bars, churches, schools, and places of employment. In addition, the gun lobby has been successful at hiding the truth about crimes committed by concealed handgun permit holders by forcing most states to keep secret the identities of permit holders. As a result, until recently, the false claims made by pro-gun advocates regarding these "upstanding community leaders" have been left unchallenged.

By: Blanketnazi2 on 5/30/13 at 9:12

http://www.csgv.org/issues-and-campaigns/concerns-about-concealed-carry/crimes-committed-by-virginia-concealed-handgun-permit-holders

By: BenDover on 5/30/13 at 9:13

Gun restrictions don't stop criminals... they stop the law abiding bn. When that guy shot up Jonny's a few years back he was breaking dozens of gun laws... none of which he was charged for.

I felt naked sitting there when the gunfire broke out because my Glock was tucked away legally in my gun vault at my house as was the firearm of every other law-abiding patron who was there.

It took about 6 minutes for the cops to arrive after the shots were first fired.

By: Blanketnazi2 on 5/30/13 at 9:14

In 2011, Minnesota permit holders were reported to have committed 231 serious crimes, including 23 instances involving the handgun they held a permit to carry.
http://madvilletimes.com/2013/02/minnesota-handgun-permit-holders-231-crimes-committed-0-stopped/

By: Blanketnazi2 on 5/30/13 at 9:16

Gun permit holders commit crimes, review finds
http://www.arktimes.com/ArkansasBlog/archives/2011/12/27/gun-permit-holders-commit-crimes

By: BenDover on 5/30/13 at 9:16

I do like to shoot for the fun of it bfra... and blowing things to hell is part of it.

Not that there's anything wrong with it, but what are you bfra, queer? What kind of effeminate Twinkie man doesn't like to blow stuff up?

By: Blanketnazi2 on 5/30/13 at 9:20

http://thelede.blogs.nytimes.com/2013/01/09/most-states-keep-gun-permit-data-under-wraps/

Great effort is made to make the data unavailable so that a solid study cannot be completed. Huh.....

By: grid on 5/30/13 at 9:21

I'd like to give my 2 cents worth on this, as I work in law enforcement. My personal opinion is that if you have a handgun carry permit, you should be able to carry your weapon anywhere it is legal (including locked in your car at work). But as Jazzpa mentioned, you may have your weapon stolen if your car is buglarized.

Now, if your employer says "no weapons on my premises", you can either say "ok", or challenge your employer for your right to carry. As with most things, it is up to the individual to decide & assume the consequences of his/her decision.

By: budlight on 5/30/13 at 9:24

y: Blanketnazi2 on 5/30/13 at 9:10
http://www.vpc.org/ccwkillers.htm

No comprehensive data exists on non-self defense killings by private citizens legally allowed to carry concealed handguns. Concealed Carry Killers offers examples from May 2007 to the present of such incidents, which are taken from news reports and the limited state data available. These examples are only an unknown fraction of the unreported number of similar incidents that routinely occur across the nation.

Blanket this translates to "don't have enough incidents to record statistical data".

And regarding physcian assisted suicide, it is still suicide. You didn't address whether or not it falls into the same category as late term abortion of an innocent life.

Anyway, I'm not going to shoot anyone or commit suicide. But you can chose whatever you wish. Not my call as you said.

By: Blanketnazi2 on 5/30/13 at 9:25

That's right. It's not your call.

And I guess you missed the incidents I listed. I'm also showing that it is not a complete list. Improve your reading comprehension!

By: Blanketnazi2 on 5/30/13 at 9:28

Late term abortion depends upon the circumstance. In some cases it is done for a child who is going to be stillborn or severly ill and will not live after birth. That situation should be determined by the woman and her doctor - not legislators nor people who want to impose their morality on someone they don't know and a situation they don't understand.

By: budlight on 5/30/13 at 9:29

Screw you Blanket. My reading comprehension is fine. I chose not to comment on your list of incidents. So ye of the almighty know it ALL, stop being so judgmental. You and your ilk are so condescending. Get over your self importance.

EXAMPLE OF IRRESPONSIBLE GUN OWNER:
LAKE BUENA VISTA, Fla. (AP) - A Walt Disney World patron on a ride with her grandson found a loaded gun on her seat. Officials said Wednesday that the woman found the pistol on the Dinosaur ride at Animal Kingdom. The woman gave the loaded weapon to a park attendant, who then contacted her manager and authorities. The owner of the gun, Angelo Lista, told authorities that he discovered his firearm was missing several minutes after leaving the ride. He has a concealed weapons permit. Lista told authorities he didn't know Disney World patrons weren't allowed to bring guns. He said he thought the security checkpoint at the entrance to the central Florida park was only so guards could check bags for bombs or explosives.

Disney World prohibits patrons from bringing weapons of any kind on its property.

By: Libertine on 5/30/13 at 9:29

The law is a good balance of civil and property owner rights. Just like the guns in bars law. Permit holders should have the right to carry any where they wish, while business owners and restaurant owners should be able to make the rules on their own private property.

Don't be silly Loner, there hasn't been a blood bath and never will be. All the anti-self defense cried old west blood in the streets shootouts that have never materialized in the last 20 years when shall issue laws swept the country.

Now Tennessee just needs to lift the carry permit ban on public property like parks and schools.

By: Loner on 5/30/13 at 9:29

The only time that the TN legislature has ever fought for workers' rights is in the case of taking your guns to work....there's something queer about that...in the odd sense...and there is something wrong with that sort of queerness....they call that, "wrongheadedness".

By: Blanketnazi2 on 5/30/13 at 9:30

Of course you chose not to comment on the facts presented! LOL

By: Blanketnazi2 on 5/30/13 at 9:31

Conservatives want government to stay out of their lives - until it involves the lives of someone else when it comes to gays, abortion and assisted suicide. Hypocrites!

By: bfra on 5/30/13 at 9:31

By: BenDover on 5/30/13 at 9:16

I do like to shoot for the fun of it bfra... and blowing things to hell is part of it.

Not that there's anything wrong with it, but what are you bfra, queer? What kind of effeminate Twinkie man doesn't like to blow stuff up?
===================================================
NO Ben MEN I know shoot for skill, hunting & protection (if needed)! Sissies or queers as you prefer, usually like to just "blow things up" because they don't have the GUTS for anything else.

By: Blanketnazi2 on 5/30/13 at 9:32

Libertine, I agree with your take on the balance between gun owner rights and property owner rights. I don't think parks are a good place for guns, though.

By: BenDover on 5/30/13 at 9:38

I don't hunt but the others you mention, I do, bfra... in addition to blowing stuff all to hell when given a chance. It's a lot more fun hopping cans or blasting clays than shooting at targets in my mind. Mason jars full of sand hit with high-powered rifles make a most awesome display as well. I've never shot pyrotechnic targets but they look like they'd be a ball too. And the bigger the bang the better.

What's up with you trying to judge what others consider fun? Why do you wish your timidity on the rest of society?

By: bfra on 5/30/13 at 9:44

Ben - You must have had a very protected childhood & never allowed to enjoy fireworks. Fireworks are made for blowing up & not for shooting at. What is timid about being a sharp shooter & disliking people that treat guns like a toy. They are not toys, nor made for your amusement.

By: BenDover on 5/30/13 at 9:45

Yes they are.