CJ heads NFL All-Pro list as only unanimous pick

Thursday, January 14, 2010 at 11:41am

The accolades continue to pour in for Tennessee Titans star running back Chris Johnson, who on Thursday was the only unanimous selection for the Associated Press All-Pro team.

The team is selected annually with only a first-team list at each position and selects the top player at each position in the NFL regardless of conference. Johnson received a perfect 50 out of 50 votes, with San Francisco 49ers linebacker Patrick Willis receiving the next highest at 49.

Johnson was also the only Titans player to be named to the first unit. Left tackle Michael Roos was selected to the second team.

Johnson was chosen as the NFL’s Offensive Player of the Year on Wednesday after finishing his second professional season with 2,006 yards rushing, becoming just the sixth player in league history to reach the 2,000-yard plateau. In addition, he set a new record for yards from scrimmage between rushing and receiving with 2,509.

Roos was part of a Tennessee offensive line that not only helped Johnson make history, but also allowed quarterbacks Vince Young and Kerry Collins to be sacked just 15 times all season.

In addition to Johnson, Indianapolis Colts quarterback Peyton Manning, who won his fourth Most Valuable Player Award, was selected as the All-Pro quarterback.

Minnesota’s Adrian Peterson was the other running back along with Johnson. The remainder of the offense included Houston Texans receiver Andre Johnson and New England Patriots receiver Wes Welker and tight end Dallas Clark of the Colts. Leonard Weaver of the Philadelphia Eagles is the fullback.

The All-Pro offensive line included tackles Ryan Clady of Denver and Joe Thomas of Cleveland, guards Steven Hutchinson of Minnesota and Jahri Evans of New Orleans. Nick Mangold of the New York Jets is the center.

Ends Dwight Freeney of the Colts and Jared Allen of the Vikings are joined by Vikings tackle Kevin Williams and Dallas Cowboys tackle Jay Ratliff on the defensive line.

The linebackers are DeMarcus Ware of the Cowboys, Ray Lewis of the Baltimore Ravens, Elvis Dumervil of Denver and Willis. Defensive Player of the Year Charles Woodson of Green Bay is at one cornerback, while the Jets’ Darrelle Revis was voted the other.

At safety are Adrian Wilson of the Arizona Cardinals and Darren Sharper of the Saints.

Oakland’s Shane Lechler was selected as the punter, while San Diego Nate Kaeding is the kicker and Josh Cribbs of Cleveland is the return man.

For the complete list of first and second-teamers, click here.


1 Comment on this post:

By: TITAN1 on 1/14/10 at 11:07

Props to CJ!