Dunlap adds to awards haul as only unanimous A.P. women's All-SEC selection

Tuesday, March 15, 2011 at 7:35pm
Staff reports

Brentwood Academy graduate Victoria Dunlap was named Player of the Year and was the 2011 Associated Press All-Southeastern Conference women’s basketball team’s only unanimous choice.

Dunlap, a senior forward at the University of Kentucky, was one of two Middle Tennessee products named to the first team. A total of 18 players were honored – five on the first team, five on the second team and eight honorable mention.

"It's a great honor to be named SEC Player of the Year by The Associated Press,” Dunlap said. “Really, all the credit goes to my teammates and coaching staff for helping me become the best player I can be.”

Dunlap averaged 17 points, 8.8 rebounds, 3.1 steals and 1.5 blocks per game. She scored in double figures in 29 of 31 games and had eight double-doubles.

In addition to Dunlap, the SEC coaches’ defensive player of the year, Mt. Juliet’s Tierney Jenkins, a senior forward from Alabama, earned first-team honors. Tennessee’s Shekinna Stricklen and Glory Johnson, and Georgia’s Porsha Phillips rounded out the first team.

Vanderbilt’s Jence Rhoads was named to the second team for the second consecutive year, and redshirt-freshman Stephanie Holzer earned honorable mention.

The complete 2011 AP SEC All-SEC team:


u-Victoria Dunlap, Kentucky, F, 6-1, Sr.
Shekinna Stricklen, Tennessee, G-F, 6-2, Jr.
Tierney Jenkins, Alabama, F, 6-0, Sr.
Porsha Phillips, Georgia, F, 6-2, Sr.
Glory Johnson, Tennessee, F, 6-3, Jr.

Jence Rhoads, Vanderbilt, G, 5-11, Sr.
Meighan Simmons, Tennessee, G, 5-9, Fr.
C'eira Ricketts, Arkansas, G, 5-9, Jr.
LeSondra Barrett, LSU, F, 6-2, Jr.
Kayla Melson, Mississippi, G, 5-8, Sr.

A'dia Mathies, Kentucky, G, 5-9, So.
Jasmine James, Georgia, G, 5-9, So.
Alli Smalley, Auburn, G, 5-8, Sr.
Sarah Watkins, Arkansas, C, 6-3, So.
Angie Bjorklund, Tennessee, G-F, 6-0, Sr.
Stephanie Holzer, Vanderbilt, C, 6-4, Fr.
Ieasia Walker, South Carolina, G, 5-8, So.
Adrienne Webb, LSU, G, 5-9, So.
(u-unanimous choice to first team)