Four from local universities named to watch list for National Pitcher of the Year

Monday, April 15, 2013 at 5:19pm
Staff reports

Four local college pitchers are in line to be dubbed the nation’s best.

Vanderbilt’s Tyler Beede, Brian Miller and Kevin Ziomek and Belmont closer Josh Davis were named to the National Pitcher of the Year Award watch list, the College Baseball Hall of Fame announced on Monday.

Forty-one pitchers were named to the watch list, including nine from the Southeastern Conference and two from the Ohio Valley Conference. Vanderbilt and LSU were the only schools to have three players on the list.

The winner will be announced on June 29.

“We all know the SEC is a dominant conference, but to have three pitchers from one school is even more impressive,” said Raymond Richardson, chair of the Pitcher of the Year Award committee. “We have a couple of schools that have two pitchers on the list, but three speaks to how competitive LSU’s and Vanderbilt’s pitching is.”

Beede, a sophomore from Auburn, Mass., has gone unbeaten in nine starts for No. 2 Vanderbilt (33-4, 14-1 SEC). The right-hander is 9-0 with a 1.07 ERA.

Miller, a Franklin native and Independence High grad, ranks eighth in the country with 10 saves. The side-armed right-hander has also picked up five wins in relief with a 0.81 ERA in 33.1 innings pitched.

Ziomek, a junior from Amherst, Mass., is 7-1 with two complete games and a 2.19 ERA. The left-hander has 71 strikeouts – tied for 12th most in the country – in 65.2 innings.

Davis is tied for the 11th in the nation with nine saves for Belmont (26-8, 13-2 OVC). The senior right-hander from Fayetteville, Ga., is 1-1 with a 0.77 ERA in 23.1 innings.

Also in the list is Austin Peay closer Tyler Rogers (5-1, 2.59 ERA). His 12 saves are tied for the most in the country.