Four local universities well represented on coaches' all-district teams

Wednesday, March 9, 2011 at 9:50pm
Staff reports

Players from all four of Nashville’s Division I college basketball programs earned All-District recognition from the National Association of Basketball Coaches on Wednesday.

A total of 245 players were chosen from the 24 districts, which are based on geography and conference affiliation. Based on their selections, all of those players are eligible for the Coaches’ Division I All-America team, which will be announced April 2 as part of the NCAA Final Four festivities.

Each district includes a first and second team of five players each.

Vanderbilt, Lipscomb and Tennessee State all had two players selected. Belmont, which has clinched a berth in the NCAA tournament, had one. Only two of the seven were named to their respective first teams.

The rundown:

• District 3: First team – Adnan Hodzic, Lipscomb; Second team – Ian Clark, Belmont and Josh Slater, Lipscomb.

• District 19: Second team – Kenny Moore and Robert Covington, Tennessee State.

• District 21: First team – John Jenkins, Vanderbilt; Second team – Jeffery Taylor, Vanderbilt.

1 Comment on this post:

By: joe41 on 3/10/11 at 9:50

Festus Ezeli should have been listed.Joe