Nashville Sports Council selects leaders for 2009-10

Friday, August 14, 2009 at 11:27am
Staff reports

The Nashville Sports Council named Dave Cooley chairman for the 2009-10 fiscal year, the organization announced Friday.

Cooley, of Cooley Public Strategies, was elected by the Board of Directors, which also named the executive committee for 2009-10.

“The Nashville Sports Council continues to deliver meaningful economic development results for our community and makes a positive impact on Nashville’s sports and economic development landscape,” Cooley said in a release. “We are excited about working hand-in-hand with Mayor Dean, the Nashville CVB and Chamber of Commerce to maximize the city’s opportunities.

“We have a talented Board of Directors and world-class staff that will continue to add great value to the region through the recruitment and hosting of sporting events.”

The complete 2009-10 Nashville Sports Council executive committee:

Chair – Dave Cooley, Cooley Public Strategies

Immediate Past Chair – Jim Murphy, Bradley Arant Boult Cummings, LLC.

Finance Chair - Dan Hogan, Fifth Third Bank

Events Chair - Pete Ezell, Baker Donelson Bearman Caldwell & Berkowitz

Human Resources & Compensation Chair – Joe Kelley

Government Relations Chair – Vice Mayor Diane Neighbors

Legal Chair – Margaret Behm, Dodson, Parker, Behm & Capparella

Corporate Membership Chair – Kent Thomas, Delek US Holdings

Individual Membership Chair – Jaynee Day, Second Harvest Middle Tennessee

Public Relations Chair – Bo Roberts, Netcom LLC.

Speakers Management Chair – Ronald Roberts

At-Large – David Williams, Vanderbilt University

At-Large – John Fleming, Renaissance Nashville Hotel

At-Large – Donnie Mingus, Team Construction

Ex-Officio – Marilyn Edwards, Mayor’s Office Representative