Predators well represented, empty-handed at NHL Awards

Wednesday, June 22, 2011 at 8:50pm
Staff reports

The Nashville Predators built their reputation throughout the 2010-11 season with defense.

Wednesday, in the final major event of the NHL calendar, they were the ones who were shut out.

Nashville came up empty at the 2011 NHL Awards Show at Las Vegas as all four trophies for which a player or staff member was nominated went to someone else.

Defenseman and team captain Shea Weber and goalie Pekka Rinne did receive notable recognition on the 2011 NHL All-Star teams, though. Weber was named a first-team defenseman (a franchise first) and Rinne was named the second-team goalie.

Weber actually received the most first-place votes among all defensemen but finished second to Detroit’s Nicklas Lidstrom in total points. Weber lost the Norris Trophy to Lidstrom, who won it for the seventh time, one short of the record held by Bobby Orr.

Coach Barry Trotz lost out to Pittsburgh’s Dan Bylsma, who lost top stars Sidney Crosby and Evgeni Malkin to injury for significant stretches, in voting for the Jack Adams Trophy.

The General Manager of the Year award went to Vancouver’s Mike Gillis over Nashville’s David Poile, the only finalist in each of the two years the award has been presented.

Rinne lost the Vezina Trophy to Boston’s Tim Thomas, who also was the first-team All-Star by a wide margin.