Sounds' roster includes top prospects, Major League flavor

Monday, April 2, 2012 at 10:39pm
Staff reports

The Nashville Sounds’ opening day roster features plenty of big-league flavor, including the Milwaukee Brewers’ top prospect.

The Sounds, the Triple-A affiliate of the Brewers, open their season on Thursday at New Orleans with a 25-man roster, which includes 16 returning players and nine members of Milwaukee’s 40-man roster.

Headlining the team is right-hander Wily Peralta, the organization’s No. 1 prospect, according to Baseball America. Peralta, 22, set career-highs in wins (11), ERA (3.17), starts (26) and strikeouts (157) in 2011.

Spending the season at Double-A Huntsville and Nashville, he finished 11-7.

Also back is the Brewers’ 2011 Minor League Player of the Year Mike Friers, who also split time in the two highest levels of the minor leagues. The right-hander went 13-3 with a minor-league best 1.86 ERA.

In the field, two-time Brewers Minor League Player of the Year and infielder Taylor Green returns. Green, the team’s eighth-best prospect, batted. 336 last year for Huntsville and Nashville. He finished the season on the Brewers’ postseason roster and played in three games as they reached the NLCS.

Outfielder and sixth-ranked prospect Logan Schaefer is back in the lineup after he moved up the ladder from Advanced-A Brevard County all the way to the Brewers. He batted 315 with five home runs, 43 RBIs, and 16 stolen bases in 99 games and was a September call-up by Milwaukee.

Also in the outfield will be former Sound Corey Patterson. He last was in Nashville in 2009 but since has been with four major league organizations, most recently the St. Louis Cardinals. In January, the 32-year-old signed a minor league contract with the Brewers.

The Sounds begin their 35th season in Nashville with a new manager, Mike Guerrero. He coached the Huntsville Stars the last two seasons, compiling a 131-146 record.

After the eight-game road trip to start the season, the Sounds play their first home game, 7:05 p.m. April 14 at Greer Stadium.