Vandy wins to set up rematch with Ole Miss

Saturday, May 24, 2008 at 2:37pm

HOOVER, Ala. – Vanderbilt defeated Ole Miss 7-4 Saturday to remain alive in the Southeastern Conference Baseball Tournament at Regions Park.

The sixth-seeded Commodores will have to beat the eighth-seeded Rebels for a second time Saturday night in order to play LSU in Sunday’s championship game.

VU [40-19] won Saturday by scoring five runs in the third inning and getting a strong pitching performance from Brett Jacobson, who allowed no runs and no hits in four innings of relief work.

Vanderbilt’s victory set up a rematch with Ole Miss, scheduled for 6:30 p.m. The winner will play LSU in Sunday’s title game at 3 p.m.

LSU won its 19th consecutive games Saturday by defeating Alabama, 12-8. The Tigers own the nation's longest winning streak.

In 2007, VU won two games on Saturday en route to winning the SEC Tournament championship.

“If we hadn’t done it before, it might be a pipe dream, but we’ve done it before so it isn’t a pipe dream," Commodores coach Tim Corbin said. "There are a lot of things that have to happen. You have to have quality pitching and some luck and you have to hit. It's still tough."

Shea Robin and Dominic de la Osa each had two hits and drove in two runs Saturday to lead the Commodore offense, while David Macias led off the game with his eighth home run of the season.

De la Osa had a two-run single in the third inning, while Steven Liddle and Robin each had RBI hits to give Vanderbilt a 7-2 lead.

Jacobson relieved starter Taylor Hill in the fifth inning and pitched until the ninth before giving way to Richie Goodenow and Russell Brewer, who finished off the Rebels [36-23] in the ninth inning.

Ole Miss did not have a hit after the fourth inning.

Check tonight for complete Vanderbilt-Ole Miss postgame coverage and reaction.

SEC Baseball Tournament

Regions Park

Hoover, Ala.


Game 1 — LSU 5, South Carolina 4 [10 innings]

Game 2 — Vanderbilt 7, Florida 3

Game 3 — Ole Miss 4, Georgia 1

Game 4 — Kentucky 9, Alabama 3


Game 5 — South Carolina 11, Florida 3

Game 6 — Alabama 5, Georgia 2

Game 7 — LSU 8, Vanderbilt 2

Game 8 — Ole Miss 8, Kentucky 7


Game 9 — Vanderbilt 7, South Carolina 5

Game 10 — Alabama 13, Kentucky 4


Game 11 — Vanderbilt 7, Ole Miss 4

Game 12 — LSU 12, Alabama 8

Game 13 — 6:30 p.m.: Vanderbilt vs. Ole Miss [CSS]

Sunday Championship Game

Winner G13 vs. LSU, 3 p.m. [FSN]

Filed under: Sports