Winning in SEC doesn't come easy for new members

Monday, June 11, 2012 at 1:01am

If history is any indicator, Missouri and Texas A&M should expect the task of collecting SEC trophies to
be difficult.

Arkansas and South Carolina can vouch for that. The schools joined the league in 1991 — nearly 60 years after its inception. In the 21 years since, championships have been few and far between in the four major sports, if they have come at all.

(However, Arkansas has captured 29 conference championships in men’s and women’s indoor and outdoor track and field.)

Here’s a look at how the schools involved in the SEC’s previous expansion have fared in the four major sports (regular season and tournaments):



5 regular-season titles

South Carolina – 3 (2000, 2002, 2011);
Arkansas – 2 (1999, 2004)

1 tournament championship

South Carolina (2004)


0 league championships

Arkansas won the West division in 1995, 2002 and 2006; South Carolina claimed the East title
in 2010


3 regular-season titles

Arkansas – 2 (1992, 1994); South Carolina – 1 (1997)

1 tournament championship

Arkansas (2000)



0 regular-season or
tournament championships

Neither has reached the SEC Tournament finals.