Woman withdraws complaint vs. Pacman

Thursday, January 17, 2008 at 12:36am

An Atlanta defense attorney withdrew her application for an arrest warrant against suspended Tennessee Titans cornerback Adam “Pacman” Jones on Wednesday, a source with knowledge of the situation confirmed to The City Paper.

Wanda S. Jackson withdrew her complaint of alleged assault and battery by Jones in the early morning hours of Jan. 3 at the Body Tap Exclusive strip club.

Jones, who was warned by NFL commissioner Roger Goodell to stay out of strip clubs especially in the wake of a Las Vegas incident that eventually escalated into a triple shooting, had “sucker punched” Jackson after an argument, according to the application for the arrest warrant, which was filed Jan. 7.

The complaint had been scheduled to be heard in Fulton County Magistrate Court on Feb. 8 to determine whether or not there was evidence to go forward with criminal charges against Jones, who has been arrested six times and been at or near 12 episodes where police have investigated. Despite that, Jones has no guilty pleas on his record since being drafted by the Titans in 2005. He pled no contest to a gross misdemeanor of conspiracy to commit disorderly conduct in the Las Vegas incident after having faced two counts of felony coercion for being accused of starting the fight inside the Minxx Gentleman’s Club.

By Jackson withdrawing the complaint, the criminal matter is over, though the NFL still has yet to rule on Jones’ reinstatement to the league, something that won’t happen until after the Pro Bowl on Feb. 10.

Efforts to reach Jackson were unsuccessful. Jones’ Atlanta-based attorney Manny Arora declined comment on the matter.

Filed under: Sports
Tagged:
By: junebugfan on 12/31/69 at 6:00

I hope for his sake that it was withdrawn because it was a fabricated story, and not because there was money exchanged.

By: serr8d on 12/31/69 at 6:00

No, the reason this was withdrawn is obvious...this is a standard Lawyer Trick.A good lawyer, in a court with a rapt jury, will bring up an allegation or rumor that the Judge will toss off of the record, for it's goofiness. The lawyer knows full well that statement is bogus, and the Judge will react correctly, but the damage is done...the Jury, fat, dumb and happy that they are, heard the thing and now it's absorbed into their ample zeitgeist.Now we have this story circulating around, Goodell's sniffed it, and others who have vested interest in Pac's future...and it's not going away, just because the charge is dropped.I hope Goodell releases Pac into the care of the Titans...so we can see if they have the cojones to do the right thing, and cut him immediately.They certainly didn't waste any time pulling Chow's plug, now did they?

By: TITAN1 on 12/31/69 at 6:00

Chow doesn't cost us a $9,000,000 cap hit. I hope there is someone stupid enough out there who wants to trade for him.

By: Wdeere on 12/31/69 at 6:00

Chow lost his job because VY threw 17 interceptions versus only 9 touchdowns in 2007. Chow is just another scapegoat being skinned. Ole Butt Adams just had to have the kid from Houston on his team. He's the one who should be fired.

By: nashbeck on 12/31/69 at 6:00

Wdeere= innate vince hater. Just pretend Cutler was on the back of his jersey and then maybe you'll realize it's no coincidence the Titans became playoff contenders when he became the starting qb.

By: junebugfan on 12/31/69 at 6:00

serr8d, TITAN1 - brace yourselves - I share your sentiments.

By: gdiafante on 12/31/69 at 6:00

I'd take Cutler or any other QB over VY. The Titans became playoff contenders because of the defense.Hell, the Ravens won a SB without an offense. lol

By: Magnum on 12/31/69 at 6:00

I bet he "made it rain" on her.

By: junebugfan on 12/31/69 at 6:00

I still think Young will be a very good quarterback for us, but gdiafante is dead on about the reason we made the playoffs.

By: BigPapa on 12/31/69 at 6:00

"I ain't sayin' she's a gold digga..."
"11679